

Der Vorsitzende - The Chairman - Le Président

Vice President Věra Jourová, European Commissioner for Values and Transparency Commissioner Didier Reynders, European Commissioner for Justice

Brussels, 7 September 2022

Dear Commissioner Jourová, Dear Commissioner Reynders,

Following up on our exchange about the detention of the leader of Bulgarian opposition party GERB Mr Boyko Borissov on 17-18 March, we would like to draw your attention to the final ruling, which Sofia Administrative Court delivered on 22 August with respect to this case. According to the Court, the arrest of Mr Borissov was unlawful and arbitrary. The detention order did not include any facts that would substantiate the use of coercive administrative measures against the former Prime Minister of Bulgaria.

The final ruling, which upholds a similar decision of the Sofia District Court from 14 April, reconfirms our assessment presented to you in a letter on 4 April. We continue to be worried about the deterioration of the rule of law in Bulgaria, and trust that you will now share our concern. Unlawful detention of members of democratic opposition violates fundamental democratic standards and cannot be tolerated in any EU Member State. Moreover, false suggestions about a link between the arrest and investigations of European Public Prosecutors Office, which Bulgarian authorities made at the time of the illegal detention, have created unnecessary confusion with respect to EPPO's operations and may have undermined public trust in the Office.

In light of the final court ruling, we call on the European Commission to publicly condemn the actions of the Bulgarian government and particularly of the Ministry of Interior, which led to the illegal arrest of the leader of the largest opposition party. We also call on the Commission to take appropriate measures to guarantee respect of democratic values and the rule of law in Bulgaria.

Yours sincerely,

Manfred Weber

Chairman of the EPP Group in the European

Parliament

Monika Hohlmeier

Chair of the Committee on Budgetary Control

Jeroen Lenaers

EPP Coordinator of the Committee on Civil

Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

Petri Sarvamaa

EPP Coordinator of the Committee on Budgetary

Contro

Tomáš Zdechovský

Vice-Chair of the Committee on Budge

Mouika Hohlweier

Control

EPPGroup-Chairman@ep.europa.eu - www.eppgroup.eu